Beach Wedding

For a couple of weeks, we have been wedding dress-sitting.  We were chosen because we had space in our closet and no curious cats.   Yesterday–the wedding eve–the dress was picked up by the “Man of Honor.”  Time for a wedding!

MAN OF HONOR

Outdoor weddings in November are not for the faint of heart.  The weather has been “iffy” this week.  Showers, fog, clouds, patches of sunshine.

This morning, Miss Piggy and I headed to the beach while it was still dark so that I could take a picture of the sunrise.  Surely, there would be one!   Getting up before dawn was the easy part.  Miss Piggy does not like the click of the camera.   She peed, she pooped, she yanked her leash, she jiggled my arm.

“Suck it up,” I told her.  “Just a couple more minutes.”

And then my camera battery went dead.

Frankly, Miss Piggy  looked guilty.  I just can’t figure out how she did it.

The sun rose brilliantly without my documenting it and quickly warmed the morning to the mid-60’s, but there was still the wind. . . .  Most of the wedding guests had worn a jacket or shawl.  The only one without a wrap was the bride .  She wasn’t cold; she was GLOWING.

Lovely music!


Who is wearing the veil. . . dad or daughter?

The wind caused us to lose the bride for a minute during the ceremony.  Everybody helped in the rescue, including the minister.  The groom looked relieved.

After the ceremony, the photographer took photos of the families while the guests were invited inside for coffee and pastries.

I thought it would be cute to include this little picture, but somehow this shapshot has ended up as my Desktop wallpaper.  I don’t know how to get him off my Desktop.When the photographs were finished, we moved into the ballroom for a lovely sit-down buffet.


We have known the bride since she was a little girl, watched her grow up just two houses away.

Dearly Beloved loves her laugh.  It gurgles and bubbles and spills forth in deep, throaty little hiccoughs.   It’s a great laugh.   We do not know her new husband well, but he is polite, hard-working, kind, and handsome.  He has a nice laugh, too.

That’s our wish for them. . . may they always laugh together.

“I dropped a tear in the ocean,  and whenever they find it I’ll stop loving you, only then.”
– Anonymous

10 thoughts on “Beach Wedding

  1. cw

    OMG, don’t know which is lovelier – the bride or that wonderful quote. Your pictures are beautiful – I took my seat as instructed and truly enjoyed it all. 🙂

  2. This marriage is headed for success. Laughter is indeed the one thing that can carry a couple through all sorts of trouble.

    I loved the photographs and appreciate Miss Piggy’s patience in allowing the lovely sunrise.

  3. Birdie

    Best wishes to the lovely bride and her handsome groom–have a great life!! Thanks for the photos and the quote.

  4. What a beautiful wedding! The bride is so adorable!

    Thanks for the kind comment about my foot…it doesn’t hurt just keeps getting swollen if I stand on it too long…guess I just have to rest it as much as possible.

    I love those shoes but I need wide styles …I’m tall and have big feet. 🙂

  5. This is one of the most beautiful tributes I have ever read. The pictures are gorgeous – and you couldn’t have ended on a more perfect note with that beautiful quote. An absolutely perfect post!

Leave a comment