Postscript from the Ledge

Friend Martha called yesterday to reschedule lunch.  (Read yesterday’s post to make sense of this.)  

We decided to meet on Tuesday at a restaurant we’ve never tried.  Although we can’t remember the name of the restaurant or the street it’s on, we’re fairly certain we’re talking about the same place: the one that the yoga instructor’s son opened.

We talked about my mishaps of last week and I mentioned that I’d even written a blog post about it.

“Then you might want to add a PS.  Remember that I cancelled lunch because a group was coming to tour my garden?”  Martha asked.   “When no one had shown up by 11, I called to make sure I had the time right.

“I had the time right, but the wrong week.  They’re coming THIS Thursday. “

Lunch ought to be fun.  I hope we show up.

–   –   –   –   –   –   –   –   –

Friendship is born at that moment when one person says to another: ‘What! You too? I thought I was the only one.’ – C.S. Lewis

“A good friend will bail you out of jail, but a true friend will be sitting beside you saying, ‘Damn that was fun!'” – Author Unknown

6 thoughts on “Postscript from the Ledge

  1. Carol Too

    Obviously this wrong week disease is catching. I may have to install some virus protection so the absented minded virus doesn’t come through the internet. All the more scary cause I know the Martha in question. Are both of you aware that all computers come with calendars and one can enter the event on the exact date it is to happen? Of course, entering the event on correct day the first time might be a challenge for you two! LOL! Glad you are going to the yoga instructor’s son’s restaurant–let us know if it is still there.

  2. NCMountainwoman

    Too funny. It’s a good thing these things happen while you are so young. Now no one will suspect when you get a touch of dementia in your older years. Five bucks says one of you will miss the date, the time, or the restaurant. 🙂

  3. Reminds me about the joke about the women sending her husband to kitchen for ice cream. If you haven’t heard it…I will tell it again. I hope you show up too. Too funny.

  4. I am totally grateful I am not married. At least someone is not watching, snickering or writing about all my foibles, errors, mistaken dates, missed appointments and even incorrect airplane reservations. There are even times when I’m glad my children live in other states, for the same reasons. I keep voluminous post-its on my calendar when they are visiting.
    (My friends have the same problems but our secrets are safe among us.)

Leave a comment