I Wouldn’t Walk a Mile for One!

There was a big To-Do here recently when we learned that imported foreign fish are being served at the NC Seafood Festivals.  Before I ginned myself up for outrage, I wondered, it being a North Carolina festival, whether “foreign” meant that it came from Virginia or South Carolina.

Nope.  Turns out that the festival fish needed passports, having been imported from China, Thailand, Canada, Indonesia, Vietnam, and Ecuador.

Serving it at the NC Seafood Festivals does sound a little misleading, don’t you think?  Then again, ninety per cent of the seafood we eat in the US comes from those countries.

We have a new seafood market in town and I was thinking of checking out their selection.   Thank goodness I received additional  information.  A friend who eats meats and organs that I wouldn’t consider food (like lamb’s heart, which he tried–and loved– on a trip to Iceland) recently asked if I had any camel recipes.  CAMEL!  It seems that the new seafood market in town offers that and other unusual meats and he’s anxious to try it.

Seriously?  I have been pondering this ever since he told me about it.  Granted, I don’t travel much.  Do people actually eat camels?  Is camel on menus in New Yawk City?

Camels can carry about 650 pounds.  That would save me a lot of trips to Home Depot for mulch.  It would be like having your own moving van and it wouldn’t  need gas.  Whether or not it HAS gas,  I don’t know.

Where would a Charlotte market get camel meat?  Is there a global market for camel meat, or did one random camel come to a bad end somehow?  Did it carry one too many straws?   Did it get stuck when a rich guy tried to shove it though a needle’s eye?

Then it hit me as to exactly how a local seafood market came to have camel in its meat case.  The answer is simple:  it came over along with the “local seafood.”

Wonder if they threw in a few monkey patties.  I don’t even want to know.

 

The camel has a single hump;
The dromedary , two;
Or else the other way around.
I’m never sure. Are you?
Ogden Nash

 

6 thoughts on “I Wouldn’t Walk a Mile for One!

  1. LOL! I love your conjectures about how that one camel came to a bad end. 🙂

    Personally, I worry about what’s in hot dogs. I can’t imagine eating camel. Once in the late 60’s, I was at a family-style Basque restaurant in San Francisco and was forced by peer pressure to try beef tongue. I think it’s more difficult to eat something that’s still anatomically recognizable. I like this quote from George Carlin: “I never eat sushi. I have trouble eating things that are merely unconscious.”

  2. I’m with you, Sister–I have strong rules about tongues, beginning with NO STRANGE TONGUES! I’m even suspicious of people talking in tongues. In fact, right now my own tongue is sore. Must have bitten it in my sleep. I wonder if I was sleep talking.

    I love–and follow–the Sushi Rule. My tongue will never touch sushi.

  3. We buy seafood only at markets that can tell us the pedigree of each fish and we never buy anything from Asia. We rarely order seafood at restaurants except when we are at the beach and we ask the waiter about local catches.

    Don’t know about camel, but you can find non-Asian seafood in South Charlotte at Carolina Fish Market. They tell you where every item came from. My friend in Pineville loves it.

    My son would definitely try camel if he visited a place where it was commonly eaten. He has eaten Haggis (sheep heart, liver, lungs, tongue mixed with herbs and encased in the sheep’s stomach) when he was in Scotland, and fried lamb’s kidneys for breakfast when he was in England, so I’m sure he would have no problem with camel, especially if Alton Brown had a recipe for it.

    1. And if he prepared it himself, I’m certain it would be fantastic. . . but would he mind grilling me a burger instead?

      I became familiar with haggis via my English friend and her Burns Night Supper. Hearing about it didn’t bring on a craving and I can’t say that you’ve changed my mind by listing the ingredients. 🙂 However, having been fed pig brains and eggs and crackling bread as a child, those might bring on revulsion to the haggis eaters. Except with your son. He’d probably try those, too. Again, I’ll take a hamburger.

  4. Arkansas Patti

    This was fun but no way would I eat camel. I have a hard enough time eating fish and fowl without guilt.

Leave a Reply

