Little Prairie On the House

In early spring, my Dearly Beloved and I were full of plans for our garden.  I was going to whip the flower borders and beds into shape and he was going to have the perfect lawn this summer.  I don’t know his methods, but on several different occasions he’d head for the hardware store, then spend countless hours applying whatever he’d bought with his spreader.

His efforts were rewarded.  Soon, he was mowing the lawn two or three times a week.

Then came the record heat and drought.  His beautiful lawn began to look more like an over-grazed pasture in August.  The perfect grass disappeared altogether as rival gangs of violets and clovers battled for dominance, although there is plenty of grassless red clay soil for another skirmish, another day.

I worked on my flower beds, mainly watering them, even as the heat toasted the hosta leaves to a crisp brown and some of my flower buds didn’t even bother opening.  It’s been less than rewarding, although most plants are still alive.

By the time the pansies fizzled out in the hay rack planter on the deck railing, I was reluctant to spend money on more new plants to fry, so I bought 12 from the Reduced rack at Lowe’s– the shelf where neglected plants are sent to die.  I bought 12, hoping that perhaps half of them would make it.

IMG_1110

All of them showed their gratitude for my mercy mission by flourishing. Now I’m hoping that the hummingbirds might find some tasty morsels in the $12 assortment.

As I’ve explained before, even though we live in a ranch style house, our sloped lot means that our deck is second story.  I’ll show you a photo.  (Pretend you don’t notice the hose and junk lying around.)

IMG_1094

There is a sidewalk at the bottom of the steps which encircles my rose garden.  Beyond the roses is the used-to-be lawn.  My point in telling you all of this is that when DB was spreading all those seeds, my little planter up there should have been off limits to any straying seeds, right?

So one would think.

Take a look at the back of the planter from the deck.

IMG_1087

That’s how the grass down there in the prairie is supposed to look.

Poor DB!  I wonder if he’d feel better if I let him mow the back of my planter.

There’s one good thing about snow, it makes your lawn
look as nice as your neighbor’s.
– Clyde Moore

5 thoughts on “Little Prairie On the House

  1. Looks like DB has been spilling his seed pretty recklessly. (Oh my, did I just say that out loud?) My husband always shops what we call the “hospital table” at nurseries. Some plants just need a little TLC, like your grateful bunch. My daughter, a few years ago, bought several bags of Iris tubers that were dry and shriveled up. She gave us several and darned if the majority of them (hers and ours) survived and rose Phoenix-like to become lovely blooming plants.

    I like your tag “crap grass.” That says it all. 🙂

  2. Arkansas Patti

    Didn’t realize you had been hit so hard by drought. It can really spoil all our efforts. Love the volunteer grass on the planter.
    Also love that quote. Yes snow is a does put everyone’s yard on the same level.

  3. Your rescued plants are a bit like goldfish won at a carnival they always flourish! I like the grassy look. Just tell your DB there is always NEXT YEAR! We will send rain!

Leave a Reply

