Food Truckin’

My experience with food trucks is limited, mostly ice cream trucks and vendors at county fairs. I have not a trace of nostalgia for either.  The new era of food trucks–the fancy ones with the catchy names and the specialty dishes–seems much more appealing.  Here, they’re primarily uptown in the business district which isn’t on my radar, but they satisfy a niche for the 75,000 or more workers up there.

I love hearing the clever names owners select and found this list of the Awesomest/ Worst names online.  I couldn’t tell which was which, so maybe we need to compile a list of our own, real or made-up.  Any suggestions?

Folks who don’t work uptown have an opportunity to try some of the gastronomic offerings when a number of the trucks head for a southend parking lot on Friday afternoons for what becomes an instant fiesta: Food Truck Friday.  Dearly Beloved and I have not tried it, so my food truck knowledge remains scant.  Someday. . . .

Riding around the beach last week, I found myself behind, well. . . what do you think. . . would you call this a food truck?

Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Food Truckin’

  1. Arkansas Patti

    Kind of liked “Hit and Run.” Beats Road Kill.
    Think you ought to try out fiesta and do a critique. Maybe you could become a famous truck food critic.

  2. I always wonder how sanitary food trucks are, but I’m sure they are better than the ubiquitous NYC “dirtywater” hot dog carts!

Leave a Reply

