The Arthur Report

Whenever hurricanes head for the Outer Banks, I check with my brother to see if he is evacuating or staying there.  It’s an unnecessary step.  He’s always staying put, but I ask anyway.

Friends in other parts of the country see the weather reports and ask about him.  Maybe they’re wondering if BroJoe is one of the nuts waving wildly behind Jim Cantore on The Weather Channel.

I know he’s sensible–to a degree–but he loves aggravating me with false information.

For instance, yesterday he e-mailed that he was shelling on Hatteras Island. Truthfully, I wouldn’t put that past him, but the Weather Channel had mentioned an evacuation order in effect for Hatteras, so he had to be pulling my leg.

Later, he sent me a photo of the supplies he’d laid in:  two bottles of wine.  Red and white, of course.

This morning, the headline in our newspaper said: Arthur makes landfall in N.C.  I e-mailed to ask were those wine bottles floating now.  He sent back two photos and short notes in response.

THE LIVESTOCK REPORT

“Terrified. . . in the eye of the storm.”

Image 1

THE CROP REPORT

 “Damage.”

Image

Check.

Here in Charlotte, the weather is lovely after the much-needed rain yesterday.  Dearly Beloved and I fly our flag proudly, gratefully, on this Independence Day, 2014.
One flag, one land, one heart, one hand, One Nation evermore!

– Oliver Wendell Holmes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “The Arthur Report

  1. ncmountainwoman

    Your brother sounds like such a fun person. Glad the storm was no worse than it was. Have a great 4th.

  2. Arkansas Patti

    What a character he is. Hope his insurance covered that pot. Good to know both of you dodged the bullet.

  3. One cool cat. (Both your brother and the kitty.) My cat gets terrified when the doorbell rings and the Jehovah’s Witnesses come calling, so I don’t think he’d be as calm in a hurricane. Glad you got some rain and nothing more serious!

  4. Happy July 4th weekend. LOL. Sure sounds like a typical brother – sister relationship. Loved the picture of the pot…I don’t even know him but it seems “so him.” Glad everyone is dry and safe.

Leave a Reply

