High Hopes

Yes, I know I whine about squirrels a good bit, like I think people in other areas don’t have similar problems.  Oh no, those folks have my sympathy, especially Natalie, my Canadian blogger friend who says they’re in the walls of her house.  Gulp.  Even Britain has squirrel problems.  Our squirrels somehow showed up over there and liked it, so now they’re considered a serious nuisance.  I wonder if some devious American took a couple over in retaliation for the starlings which are nuisances over here.

Hmmm.  Or maybe the starlings were retaliation for the squirrels.  Truce!

Having said all that, I’d like to point out that the scientific name for them is Sciurus Carolinensis.   Must translate to “scourge of Carolina.”

Remember the latest damnsquirrel episode that I wrote about a couple of weeks ago?  The one where a cheeky little tree rat climbed up onto the table on our second story deck and yanked out the boxwood twig I was attempting to root?   I figured that the “something” I saw him surreptitiously stick in the small planter was an acorn.  Was he hiding it for food or planting a mighty oak where he thought none of the other squirrels would venture.

Hard to tell what a sneaky squirrel is thinking.

Today I noticed something growing in the planter.  It sure as heck wasn’t my boxwood twig.  It wasn’t an oak seedling either. Mr. Squirrel wanted bigger nuts.

Image 4

The pecan he’d stuck in there had bigger plans, too, which didn’t include being lunch for a squirrel.  In just a couple of weeks, it had already rooted into a seedling of six inches or so.  There are no pecan trees on our street, so Mr. S. had to go some distance to procure the nut, probably traveling via our squirrel-chewed cable line.

I brought it in to show to Dearly Beloved.

“Are you going to plant it?  he asked.

I don’t know.

“You almost have to, don’t you?”  

I reckon.

Image 5

I’m wondering if I’ve fallen into the squirrel’s trap because it wanted a pecan tree.  All the pictures of nut-eating squirrels show them munching on acorns.  Maybe this one wanted something bigger and better.

I’ve read that without predators, the little turds can live 20 years or so.  Heck, he might even get some pecans from it.  Hmmm.  Now that I think of it, I might not.

It’s now planted in a deeper pot so the root can uncurl.  Although I have no idea where I’d plant it, I’m going to see how it grows.   As DB says, they’re messy trees, but they’re beautiful.  Nothing is better than the shade of a Southern pecan tree.

Provided there’s not some jackass squirrel up there, dropping nuts on your head.

 –   –   –   –   –   –   –

If I’m pushed, I’d also have to admit I don’t like people with allergies. They just annoy me. There seems to be something far too self-centred about it. ‘No thanks, I’m allergic.’ Why not just say ‘No thanks’? I wasn’t asking for your medical history, I was just passing around the nuts. Trying to be friendly, that’s all.
Jack Dee

 

7 thoughts on “High Hopes

  1. Arkansas Patti

    Ok, your squirrel is a PHD among squirrels. Planting his own trees and then to sucker you into replanting and caring for his crop. Wow. Hope it thrives .

  2. We have lots of pecan trees here and the squirrels l-o-v-e the nuts. So do I. (I don’t know about the “messy” part though, unless you count the catkins that accumulate after they’re pollinated. Pecan leaves make great mulch if you just let them be and don’t rake the foo out of your yard.) We get pecans sprouting up in amongst our potted plants all the time. Maybe it’s all part of an underground “Squirrel Mafia.” Hey, it could happen…

  3. I think he was talking about the green part that holds the pecan while it’s growing and falls off after the nut drops out. We get acorns in our potted plants. You’re in with a group of better nuts. Squirrel mafia? I saw one wearing spats yesterday. You could be onto something.

  4. I sure wouldn’t want your squirrel problem, though your little critter seems far more interesting than the deer that are eating up my tulips!

  5. I think it was a housewarming gift. After all these years the squirrel wanted to give back. My grandfather grew pecan trees—Grow the tree, DB can shell them, and your Grandsons can have a Pecan stand in the front yard and make a killing. You know how much those little bags of nut go for….Don’t thank me these ideas come easily! 😀

Leave a Reply

