Would You Like Cream With That?

The birds aren’t even trying to sing these days because of all the construction noises around us.   Some of the nearby homes are being supersized with extensive additions, like this one.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThe original houses are decades old, so the owners are presented with a decorating challenge.  The new brick is never a true match.

Up the street from us, wings have been added on both sides of another house, so the owners are already pondering paint colors.

It’s a good thing they aren’t asking for my input.  I must not have an ounce of color sense about me because I see little variation in their selections.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It reminds me of this scene from My Cousin Vinny:

Lisa: [In the diner after being woken at 5 AM and staring at the menu where the options are simply ‘breakfast’, ‘lunch’, and ‘dinner’] Breakfast?

Vinny Gambini: You think? Uh, good choice. Two.

9 thoughts on “Would You Like Cream With That?

  1. This reminds me of an animated Easter card I saw where a woman is dipping eggs into pots of dye. When each one comes out she says something like “turquoise” or “teal” or “emerald” to describe its color. The guy with her just says “green” every time. 🙂

  2. What is it with our super-sized fantasies? Our house is small, by current standards. We have lived here for more than 30 years. We have paid off our mortgage. With the money we did not spend on our house, we paid for both of our children’s college education, and we have made more than a dozen trips to places in the world we want to see.
    House poor–not for me.

  3. Arkansas Patti

    I guess they haven’t gotten the memo that the “in” thing is down sizing. Guess we should be grateful for their boost to the economy.
    How awful living next to a construction site. Might be a good time for you to take a vacation.

    1. I hope it boosts the property values around here, too–so that I can buy my Airstream. 🙂

      Things have been quiet for the last couple of days, except for my Dearly Beloved sanding the deck rail. That darned rail starts peeling practically the day after it’s painted. The last three times, we’ve hired someone to paint it. This time, I’M doing it. As I paint, I’m going to recite, “You could be firewood, you know” over and over.

  4. the Boss is constantly quoting that movie….while talking legal matters he always says…”I remember in My Cousin Vinny when he said in court”……fill in the appropriate situation… I have a friend who calls everything Bone….not cream not off white….Bone….and it all looks the same to me.

    1. I love that movie! I’m afraid I can quote much too much of it myself. The “two yutes,” and “oh yeah, you blend!” are two of my favorites. Bone! I’d forgotten about that! You’re right! Everything used to be “bone” to my aunt. It’s kind of a boner now, don’t you think?

  5. Hmmm, I have plenty of colour sense and I can’t see much difference in any of those paint colours! And how big a house does anyone really need, anyway?!!

Leave a Reply

