All Systems Down

Because our kids and their families live in different states, communicating with them isn’t simple.  We aren’t big fans of Skype or Facetime.  Dearly Beloved and I are scary.  I’m all neck and he’s all nostrils.

None of us answers our landline phones, since we can’t say, “Please remove us from your call list” to the automated voices inevitably at the other end. “Not In Service” calls often.  You may remember my all time favorite, Phone Scam.

For a time, e-mailing worked, but now the kids say their e-mail boxes are overflowing, so it’s become all about “Texting.”   DB embraced that right away.  He lets a picture take care of his thousand words:  a video of the dog, a photo of his new banjo.  A  sneaky shot of a sweaty me in a bandana and overalls, working in the garden, gives them an update on mom.   When his fingers do the talking, he’s a man of few words.

Last week he texted a query to our youngest daughter and as usual, received a prompt response. . . just not one he expected.

It was a text from her youngest, our soon-to-be-first-grader grandson:

Sorry she is not avalabel.

Facebook-communication_large

7 thoughts on “All Systems Down

  1. Too funny. I love texting. The other day I received a text from Cole that read “Chickie lets do that soon” I text back “great, what time.” No answer. Guess he wasn’t talking to me. 😀

  2. He was polite! You should reward him for that. When I’m driving, I often ask my teen to reply to texts from his dad for me. I often have to follow up and explain why my messages were so terse…

  3. I embrace electronic written communications so much that I secretly harbor resentment towards people that want to talk to me on the phone…

  4. Arkansas Patti

    Oh dear, I am behind the times but luckily my family is also. None of us have graduated to texting yet.
    That was a pretty impressive text from a not yet first grader. I couldn’t spell “available” at that age.

  5. NCMountainwoman

    Too funny! Since we have no cell phone reception up here on the mountain, we don’t text. One of our neighbors installed a personal cell phone tower (at considerable expense) so they could text their children and grandchildren. They said they couldn’t get any response to voice or email messages. I suppose I could get a smart phone and sit on their porch to use it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

