Christmas Eve

I love Christmas Eve!   Santa brought us a contract on our beach-house-not-on-the-beach, so we’ll be busy packing things up there in January.   For now, we’ll snuggle here in Charlotte by the fire and try to figure out where we’re going to put that stuff.

Miss Piggy and I found a discarded Christmas tree on our walk yesterday, so we’ve decked our boughs of holly with some Fraser fir branches.  It looks and smells quite Christmasy around here.   I’ve been baking, so Miss P has been vacuuming as I worked.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Our holiday spirit is in full bloom.  In fact, Dearly Beloved decided not to even chase the squirrel off the bird feeder when he looked out and saw the little bastard stuffing his cheeks.

What’s NOT in full bloom is my Christmas cactus.   OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Not a single flower!  I was going to blame global warming until my Master Gardening friend, Dirtworm,  sent me a photo of hers.  Ms. Over-Achiever somehow managed to have two different colors flowering on one plant.  The Master’s touch:

Image

Dear friends, I hope YOUR holidays are merry and bright!

8 thoughts on “Christmas Eve

  1. Merry Christmas sexy!!! Pic of miss piggy cracks me up. You are one witty minx. When we watched Chevy Chase Christmas movie last night, I thought of you and your battle against the squirrels. 😉

    May your days be merry and bright!

  2. I am certain your Christmas Cactus wanted to bloom! And they are a lovely shade of green! Congratulation of the sale! A Holly, Jolly, Merry, Christmas to you and yours. Can we say that too many times this year….I think not.

  3. Merry Christmas!

    Congrats on getting a buyer for your “not on the beach house”! Sadly we didn’t sell our house as yet, but we can’t wait any longer to move as I want to set our house up before my granddaughter is born. I am hoping our real estate is right when they told us buyers will start coming after the New Year!

    I never knew I had so much stuff until I began poutting it all in boxes –momma mia– my head is spinning!

    I loved your Christmas card! Where did you have them made?

    PS: The secret for a Christmas cactus is a cool spot that faces west–the coolness and diminishing light makes them bloom! I don’t know how to get two colors though –that is really pretty!

  4. NCMountainwoman

    With the clear cone, Miss Piggy does indeed look like a fluffy little vacuum! Glad you had a wonderfully quiet Christmas Eve.

Leave a Reply

