Village Flower Festival

Any time my British friend mentions the Flower Festival her village holds annually in late summer, I beg for photos.  The floral entries were set up in the village’s historic church.

Church of England.

This one is clever, I think.

Help me figure out the theme here:  mice, cat, teapot, packages…?  I know it’s there, but I’m clueless.  Anyone…?

I love the “cream” pouring out onto the berries here.

This floral entry is called “Cream Tea.”  It looks luscious!   Good thing the festival included a bake sale.

Clever placement.  Take a closer look at the admonition on the window.

6 thoughts on “Village Flower Festival

  1. Every village and every village church in England has a flower festival at some time during the summer. We have ours on the weekend when it’s also ‘open gardens’. For two days you can’t get away from ladies with red faces and summer frocks admiring or criticising to their hearts’ content. We don’t mind so long as they leave plenty of money behind for good causes. Naturally, the whole thing is in aid of charity, often for the church fabric itself. Many old English churches are crumbling and funds must be raised to repair the damage.

    Your friend’s flower arrangements are very pretty, but, of course, absolutely not a patch on ours. 🙂 Competition? Whatever gave you that idea?

    1. I think that sounds like something families would enjoy… I love traditions like that.

      So, do you have photos posted on your blog of your festival? Send the link. We’ll be the judges. 🙂

  2. By Jove, I think I’ve got it! (The theme for the cat, tea kettles and packages, that is.)
    Maria’s song from “The Sound of Music” about her favorite things:

    “Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens
    Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
    Brown paper packages tied up with strings
    These are a few of my favorite things”

    Am I right or what?

Leave a Reply

