Diamond Jubilee

My mother’s first cousin, the self-appointed (and believe me, unchallenged!) keeper of the family history, wrote recently to tell of the various organizations my kids and I were eligible to join.   I appreciated the thought, but had no interest.   In fact, it crossed my mind that my ability to join the DAR or 17th Century Colonial Dames (?!?) meant that many subsequent generations had much opportunity to dilute my proud English blood.

Drat.  That probably explains the diminution of my spunk.  Too bad, because I do admire spunk.

No one has been a more striking example of British spunk and indomitability than Queen Elizabeth during and even prior to her 60-year-reign.   I’ve eagerly watched footage of the planned celebrations.   The British people had every reason to celebrate her Diamond Jubilee in grand and glorious fashion.

And celebrate they have!   The weather has not deterred more than a million people from participating in official and locally organized celebrations.  The river pageant flotilla of 1,000 boats on the Thames River was quite spectacular with the naval vessels, the pleasure boats, the geyser boats, and the floating bel complete with ringing bells. The band, at least, was under a roof, playing enthusiastically while an assemblage of singers stood on an open barge in the pouring rain and sang God Save the Queen.   The 86-year-old monarch stood with her family on a boat and watched the entire event.

Since roughly half of Americans dislike a president (from either party) at any given time, there is something very refreshing about watching a nation united in good wishes for her monarch.

God Save the Queen, indeed.

My British friend, also a woman of spunk (she of the Burns Night Supper, the thatched roof house,  and the garden in my header) told me of the fun planned in her village.

She helped organize the festivities there–fun and food which included a Welly Toss, a throwing competition for which first prize was the Golden Welly Award–a small pair of (spray-painted) gold boots.  Runners-up received chocolate medals.  As she explained, no expense was spared.

I’m certain my friend’s entry in the cupcake contest would have garnered my vote.  Behold, her cupcake:

I’d know Her Royal Cupcake anywhere, wouldn’t you?

To see more of the Diamond Jubilee celebration, this site will take you to links of some of the BBC coverage of the events:  http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-18316899

Here’s one with links to the Queen’s coronation in 1953 and other related history:  http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/people/queen_elizabeth_ii

I cannot lead you into battle. I do not give you laws or administer justice but I can do something else – I can give my heart and my devotion to these old islands and to all the peoples of our brotherhood of nations. –
Elizabeth II

It’s all to do with the training: you can do a lot if you’re properly trained. – Elizabeth II

O Lord, our God, arise,
Scatter her enemies,
And make them fall.
Confound their politics,
Frustrate their knavish tricks,
On thee our hopes we fix:
God save the Queen. –
 Author Uncertain

15 thoughts on “Diamond Jubilee

  1. I LOVE THIS. We have watched together and both written a post. Royal Watching at it’s finest. The Royal cupcake is fit for a Queen! I would most certainly vote for it! Wouldn’t it be fun to be there watching? Standing along the Thames–even with the crowds (I hate crowds) it would be exciting. Queen Elizabeth looks so beautiful. I like a Queen to look beautiful–so regal in her white suit. Sigh. Ok, I am going now…hard to leave someone who understands…..And Corgis are such great dogs. Love Corgis..in fact, ya know…well we can talk about that later.

    1. Corgis, huh? You think a Corgi would be appropriate for a commoner family?

      I loved hot the Brits really got into the celebration–the dinners, neighborhood parties all over the country. Such fun and unity of spirit!

  2. I do believe your spunk is quite undiminished.
    As for the Diamond Jubilee celebration–our daughter (and son-in-law) live in London, and yesterday they had a Thames-side view of the 1,000 boat flotilla.

  3. Enough already.
    I’ve sat through the boat pageant, the crowds on the Mall and the concert; oddly fascinating even if you are watching with half an eye on the bad taste aspect of the show. I wonder if I should do the Jubilee post from the point of view of the non-Biritsh Britisher? Nah, I’d probably be lynched at the moment.

  4. My parents, who were English, got married just a couple of weeks before Queen Elizabeth’s coronation. She outlasted not only them, but their marriage! They didn’t have TV in 1953, so they went over to some neighbours who did, and watched the coronation with a big group! I love the royal cupcake.

    I was in England for her Silver Jubilee, although I didn’t attend any festivities!

Leave a Reply

