Feeling Blue?

We bought a new house in early spring.  A rental property.

It didn’t take long to find a motivated tenant.

He sent The Little Woman around to see what she thought of it.

She’s a real homebody, never away for very long.  Sometimes friends stop by.

WHOA, Little Momma…!  You look exhausted!  Sit down for a spell.

Oh.  Another trip out for groceries, huh?

Time for Pops to make a run.

There is plenty going on inside.  Occasionally, a head pops up, looking for a parent.

During this period, we bought a new bird feeder that would deny the noisy grackles entry and make it easier for the songbirds… chased cats away… kept the bird feeders full.  Why, we even provided a color-coordinated landing strip for when the flying lessons begin…

I thought that our tenants might allow me get close enough for a peek with my camera.   Was I ever wrong about that!  They buzzed around me, making flicking noises until I backed off–which I did in a hurry!

Now that I think about it, I’m not sure it wasn’t “flick” they were saying.  Could have been “flipped.”

Have I just been flipped BY a bird?

And when he sings to you, Though you’re deep in blue, You will see a ray of light creep through,
And so remember this, life is no abyss, Somewhere there’s a bluebird of happiness. Life is sweet, tender and complete, when you find the bluebird of happiness.
– Bluebird of Happiness, lyrics by Edward Heyman & Harry Parr Davies, 1934

Please excuse my dirty house
I know it is a mess
I don’t have time to clean right now
I have a bluebird nest ….
– Cherie Layton, The Bluebird Nut, 2005


24 thoughts on “Feeling Blue?

  1. I love this! So pretty! The story also gives us a birds eye view of what is going on inside and out. I don’t think you were flipped off–it was just a flap of thanks. And looks at those purty flowers! Oh my!

    1. There must be some hungry hombres in that house. The parents are on duty when I get up in the morning and still stuffing food in there at dusk. I hope they collapse with a glass of wine at night!

  2. what a beautiful bird….I have never seen a bluebird in person….since moving out of the “hood” we do have wonderful Cardinals at the new manse….

    1. Read up on bluebirds and get yourself a bluebird house. It’s important to get the right house and face it in the right direction and install it at the right height. Also, we are so glad we put a baffle on our post. You will feel like you’ve won the lottery when they find you.

  3. They are so fun to watch! My dad has been building birdhouses the past few weeks on the back patio. Ironically, a birdy family built a nest four feet away from the houses he constructed….right on top of the weedeater.

    I’ve been meaing to post pics, but I remember where I put the camera to download them!

    1. Friko, have you ever seen a bluebird? I have a friend in England who says that they aren’t in her area. I asked her was Kate Smith’s “There’ll Be Bluebirds Over the White Cliffs of Dover” a myth. I wish I could find the photo her mischievious husband sent in response: he photoshopped a hot air balloon sized bluebird onto a cliff. sigh.

  4. Arkansas Patti

    Ha ha, yes they do flip you a feather. I too have been flipped. Also if we spoke bird, I think we would be shocked at what they are calling us.
    So glad your tenants are doing well. Hope you get to see them fledge. And yes, it is a lot of responsibility:))

    1. Yup. Of course I don’t have them fighting over my real estate like yours do. I’m so hoping there isn’t a cowbird egg in there. I haven’t heard any bigmouths, so I’m hopeful.

    1. I didn’t realize you had them in Canada! Have you ever read Momma Can’t Make Up Her Mind by Bailey White? Most of it is funny chapters about her mom’s antics, but one is a chapter on how her uncle once found a hollow tree trunk filled with dozens and dozens of bluebirds, frozen to death. I thought that was one of the saddest images I could imagine.

  5. I have a bluebird house on my list too. I was just looking at web sites. I am ready. I love these little guys. I hear that will nest as late as August here in the Southeast. Fingers crossed.

    Velva

Leave a Reply

