Does ET Have a Cousin VINE-y?

In the South, often we don’t say that someone died, we say she passed. Irene has gone further up the coast, but for millions, she has not passed.

The beach-house-not-on-the-beach must look like it’s in full camouflage cover, with soggy leaves plastered all over it. The big thump Dearly Beloved said he heard in the middle of the night turned out to be a large Sweetgum branch hitting the house.  It wasn’t from one of our trees.

No news of seeing a fat Copperhead sail past.

I’m watching the Weather Channel guy stagger all over the screen at Nags Head.  I haven’t seen BroJoe or his two-wheeler fly by. He sent an e-mail a while ago that they were watching TV, so I suppose he’s seeing the staggering guy, too.

Good Egg Son and DIL sent a reassuring photo.  She had a Mimosa in one hand and Stella, the storm-phobic Weimaraner, in her lap, so everyone looked quite happy.  Stella doesn’t have one of those thunder shirts, but they put her in her Christmas raincoat and it seemed to work the same, calming her considerably.    Here she is at Christmas, when she was mortified about having to model it.   I’ll bet she’s changed her bark about it now.

This was NOT on my Christmas list!

Their Norfolk condo is on the sixth floor and I pictured them having to lug a trembling Stella up and down six flights of stairs in the dark, but it turns out their building has a backup generator, so the elevator will be running. They also have cement floors– good, in case of accidents.   Maybe we’ll give them doggy pee pads for Christmas to add to their hurricane supplies, generator or not.

I’ve talked to Dearly Beloved several times.  The power went out there about 5 AM.  He sounded fine about it until I mentioned that he’d have to clean out the freezer if it stayed off too long.  The electricity returned not only in time for the Little League games, but in time for him to make a mid-morning pot of coffee.  He’s freezer duty free.

I guess the octogenarian hurricane party is still on next door there, unless enthusiasm was dampened this morning when the pajama party ladies woke to no power.  At least they could flush.

That reminds me.  I thought I heard something about a wastewater treatment plant being breached in that area.   While Miss Piggy would probably love it,  I hope DB drinks bottled water for a while.

Here, we’ve had some blustery breezes and the air pressure was weird this morning.  Miss Piggy put on the brakes at the front door when I tried to let her out, so I had to give her a nudge and go out with her.  I had slept in the short, comfortable nightie that DB hates because it rides up my butt.  I forgot to tug it down when I bent over to pick up the newspaper, but since it was early on a Saturday morning and in front of my own house, I shouldn’t show up in a Wal-mart People e-mail.  Right?

There is something strange going on here.  Even though it was too hot to do anything in the yard this summer, we should have turned the compost pile (Where IS that jackass when I need him?!)  because there’s a strange mutant vine growing out of it like it’s on a mission from the devil.  I already cut back the stalk that had climbed the fence, but the other ones are running wild.

Look how big the leaves are on this monster!

When a plus-size fig leaf is too small...


I’d like to try and make some concrete leaf castings like one daughter Boo made for me once.  I think we have a bag of cement mix around here somewhere.

About that viney thing….  I am not joking.  This could be trouble.  One of the leader stems has its head raised a good foot off the ground and has some kind of antenna atop that. Not only that, there are legs growing out its side. I can almost hear it marching  and it is throwing out tendrils strong enough to pin a boa constrictor.  

When the guy cut the grass Wednesday, it wasn’t even there and now it’s a good ten feet out onto the lawn and heading for the house.

From now on, I’m coming and going by the front door.

You think it wants to borrow the phone?

PS.  While my folks had no problems with Irene, the storm looks angry and mean as she heads up the coast.  Think good thoughts for the millions in the Northeast, as well as those who have already been affected… devastation.  I saw a newspaper headline recently that said, “What’s Next… LOCUSTS?”   Sometimes it feels like that.

6 thoughts on “Does ET Have a Cousin VINE-y?

  1. The vine almost looks like a pumpkin vine to me. Maybe by Halloween you’ll have something to carve.

    So glad to hear you and yours did okay in the storm!

    As for your baby doll nighties, my son-in-law the police officer has encountered similarly dressed ladies, so you’re in good company.

  2. Good to hear you’ve all survived the storm. I’ve been following along and watching the guy on Kill Devil Hill tell everyone to do as he says and not as he is doing. I also like the NJ governor(?) telling his residents to “get the HELL of the beach!”
    I agree with TTPT- it looks like a pumpkin vine.

  3. lulu

    I’m thinking Jack and the BIG GIANT bean stalk? Holy moly, it’s a shame all the media is focused on Irene, I think you have a newsworthy item right there – WAIT! YOU DON’T THINK THAT COPPERHEAD HAS MUTATED, DO YOU??? Please post updates every hour – or we may have to alert the local police to check on you!! ;):)

  4. I would think pumpkin but the size of that leaf is scary. Maybe it cross bred with Elephant Ears.
    You really have a good idea with pee pads being part of emergency supplies. Good idea.
    So glad you were mostly spared.

Leave a Reply

