The Not So Old Man and the Sea

My husband walks the beach two to three hours practically every day.  He likes to walk barefooted along the water’s edge, and for his efforts he has great calves and the softest soles around.  Nature’s pedicure.

He sends pictures with his cellphone so I can see what I’m missing.

These three are today’s batch.

This one makes me wish I’d gone…

And this one says, I don’t think so…

Surfing contest.

To stand at the edge of the sea, to sense…  One way to open your eyes is to ask yourself, “What if I had never seen this before?  What if I knew I would never see it again?”                        – Rachel Carson

“Sponges grow in the ocean. That just ‘gets’ me. I wonder how much deeper the ocean would be if that didn’t happen.” – Stephen Wright quotes

12 thoughts on “The Not So Old Man and the Sea

  1. Great pictures..and while DB walks do you read? I just finished, “The Help”, and Anna Quindlens book, “Every Last One.” Should have skipped “Every Last One.”
    The crowds look daunting but the water looks wonderful.

  2. I have flat feet and therefore though I love doing that, I can’t really. I did manage to take hour long walks on the beach in my running shows twice this week. So proud of myself. And therefore I ate donuts afterwards…

    Leaving the OBX tomorrow. So sad… 😦

  3. I would LOVE to be able to walk along the beach for three hours every day! Where can I sign up?

    Stephen Wright is my favorite weirdo comedian and I’ve used many of his quotes in my artist trading cards. That quote of his is one I’ve never seen before. I love his off the wall sense of humor. (Yours too.)

    1. Texas, do you remember his joke about putting the car key in the apartment door and driving the living room around? I can’t remembver the joke and I can’t find. it.

  4. I think there are people who are born to be liberals and some born to be conservatives. There are beach people and there are people like me who find the beach boring. It’s three horizontal lines, people, with only the slightest variation of color or activity. Yes, yes, I know I’m not seeing what the beach people see, but I just can’t seem to. A moonrise like the one we had last night, though, is best seen over water. Did you see it with DB? Was it spectacular there?

    What stirs my soul are rivers, lakes, mountains and forests. I’m fortunate to live near three lovely rivers and their confluence, their mouths to the sea. However, I’m all of ten minutes at most, and five when the crowds thin out, from standing with my feet in the Atlantic. And I don’t go, except sometimes in October when the tourists have gone and storms are roiling out there somewhere. I’ll go much further to watch the water of the Waccamaw, the Black and the Pee Dee flow by me. I do that as often as I can. My kayak can handle slow rivers and quiet lakes.

    When you ask him what his walks do to and for his mind, what does DB tell you?

  5. How sweet he sends you photos!
    Anyway….tell him he HAS to read a gem of a book called Walking the Wrack Line by Barbara Hurd. He will love it and so will you.

  6. The only time I change into a “morning” person is at the beach. I just love walking along at water’s edge in the early morning before the other folks (except DB) take over. It truly calms my troubled mind.

Leave a Reply

