‘Pecker Rubbernecker

Earlier in the season our bird feeders were a sea of harmony… bluebirds, goldfinches, robins, finches, and cardinals taking turns ever so politely at the fountain and feeders.

Ah, sweet harmony.
They're happy, Momma's happy
We went away for two weeks and returned to find that the Invasion of the Birdy Snatchers had occurred:  cowbirds, sparrows, blackbirds, and grackles had taken over.  Oh, and let’s not forget the ever-present chipmunks, damnsquirrels, and rabbits still tearing around beneath, wrecking my plants as they jockey for the dropped seeds.  Our backyard paradise has been hijacked by thugs and bullies and is now the Bermuda Triangle of avian-ation.

A suet cake lasts barely two days, even with my flapping and clapping interventions to shoo away the seed hogs.  The flower bed is so decimated, I can’t even remember what I had planted there and it smells like a chicken coop.

Few bother to sing their thanks.  They’re too busy dive bombing each other,  then the winners stuff themselves while the losers skulk away to poop on my hostas.

The songbirds rarely even come around any more.  Occasionally, a cardinal or two will shoot a few hoops.

Rim shot.

Greed is the word of the day.  Take a look at Red, staking out the suet even as he rubbernecks to eat seeds from the feeder.

Greedy 'pecker

My father told me all about the birds and the bees, the liar – I went steady with a woodpecker till I was twenty-one.” – Bob Hope

12 thoughts on “‘Pecker Rubbernecker

  1. Those rotton momma cowbirds are why I quit feeding in the summer. I make the birds earn a living in the warm weather and just supply fresh water. Winter is another matter.

  2. Gawd, Mz Merrily, you are a true hoot! Shooting hoops!!:) lolololol…. PECKER rubbernecker!!LOLOLOLOLOL…. great pictures!! GREAT BLOG POST!!:):) LOLOLOLOLO…

  3. So funny that the Red-bellied Woodpecker guards the suet while eating from another feeder. So sorry you have lost your songbirds for the time being. Hopefully the riffraff will soon leave and the songbirds will return.

  4. Sheesh—your garden has gone to the birds–I guess you are not charmed or amused by the Wood Pecker? I always thought they we kind of cute.

  5. Mary, I can beat all your varmints …I once saw a big ole Norwegian rat dangling from my backyard bird feeder! Needless to say I stopped feeding the birds that summer.

  6. The grackles have broken one of my feeders – there were 3 of them fighting over it one day and now the bottom doesn’t stay on quite right. Right now I think I’d be happier with the damnsquirrels!!!

Leave a Reply

