Book ’em, Danno

If I am posting too much about the garden show I saw last week, then perhaps it’s just as well that I overlooked a big chunk of it, even though it is one of my favorite parts:  the designer rooms.  You’d think this scene right at the entrance would have served as a trigger.

That thing lying between the two chairs was so ugly that I didn’t pay much attention to the rest of the room.  I was trying to figure out what might have made that shiny salmon pig-looking creature show-worthy.  Regurgitated dog came to mind. With all the cute stuffed animals out there, why in the world would they have picked one that looked like it was stuffed into a hotdog casing?

The books the designers selected for inspiration made me even sorrier that I missed the rooms.  Unusual choices!  Velva Jean Learns to Drive (a kitchen)…  Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil (den)… and Judy Blume’s Freckles (dining room) were among them.  

The Time Traveler’s Wife was inspiration for a master bedroom.   Would only one side of the bed be mussed?  A guest room was designed as one for The Great Gatsby’s overnight friends–perhaps this guest:

(I believe that on the first night I went to Gatsby’s house I was one of the few guests who had actually been invited. People were not invited – they went there. -The Great Gatsby, Chapter 3)

The guide description of the last room, even though it doesn’t specify what room it inspired, really perplexed me.  The inspiration book  was The Story of the Trapp Family Singers. Kind of a shocker, huh?  Here’s the description in the guide:

Rhythm can be seen and heard filling friendly faces and quite (sic) spaces.  This room is designed for those times that people share together.

Huh? Try and wrap your brain around what that one might have been.

Click on these next pictures and enlarge them to see the exquisite details.  Don’t forget to turn up the scent sensor.

The Orchid Pavilion

Nero Wolfe - a clever choice for the orchid pavilion.

Nero was bested by this entry:

Best in show orchid winner.
Second place.

Ikebana (Ickybana)

A woman in our neighborhood teaches Ikebana.  She’s notorious for slinking around the neighborhood, stealing branches and blooms for her classes.  Beware the Ikebana neighbor.  Let’s assume that the exhibition plants were not pilfered.

I loved this book when I read it, so I was glad to see it used:

Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet

The Adventures of Momotaro, the Peach Boy

 

Not on your bedside table?  How about Plum Wine, The Moon Princess, or James Clavell’s Gai-Jin?

Peachy keen?

If the Bonsai section had book titles included with the displays, I must not have been paying attention.  I’ve included only two pictures because I didn’t spend much time there and didn’t make a note the winner.

Although I realize that this skill requires patience, talent, and artistry, bonsai always makes me  feel a bit sad.  (sigh) Do I need therapy?

And we’re walking… and we’re walking….

This section restored my good mood:

The Secret Life of Bees
Shaky shot of Scheherazade. Sorry!
The Secret Garden
Treasure Island
Last Child in the Woods

The Secret Garden and Treasure Island were used in several different display areas.  Easy to understand why.

Enough for today, my artsy-fartsy,  gardening, bibliophile friends.  Keep in mind that I’ve saved you the $10 ticket price and $6 parking fee, not to mention the sore feet.

I’ve saved a few odds and ends for another time.  Come back before the flowers fade.

14 thoughts on “Book ’em, Danno

  1. I love gardening vicariously. Can we pull weeds together in June? And it was so thoughtful of you to to save us money… Always thinking of your readers. What was the art item between the two end tables?

  2. Well, SOMEONE was obviously taken with this show… good for you girl, to have enjoyed it so much.
    If you haven’t read Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil, you must do so; I have a feeling you’ll love it.
    Did you hear they’re remaking The Great Gatsby? I think Leonardo Di Caprio will be the star.

    1. I did read it and you’re right–I enjoyed it.

      I saw that they have the (East Egg) Gatsby mansion slated for demolition. Apparently, $17 million dollars doesn’t buy anything fit for inhabitance these days!

  3. Ok, that’s it, I want that type of garden show to come to my area! lol I’ve been so enjoying enlarging all the pictures and oohing & aahing over all the details and amazing myself that I could tell right away from which book a few of the displays were inspired from! A snowstorm is just starting over here so I’ll keep on looking at your wonderful pictures and ignore that winter is raging outside:-) xoxo

  4. I was nodding my head in agreement with the idea of why a designer room would have such an ugly stuffed dog…Then suddenly, I experienced something very unusual…Holy cow, could it be true? I saw my name “Velva”, and it did not belong to me. I promptly forgot about the ugly dog-now, it was all about me 🙂 Perhaps, the ugly dog belonged in my kitchen design.

    Awesome.
    Velva

  5. I love to go to shows like this Mary and enjoyed looking at this and your last post. I agree that dog looks like a dead pig ..such an odd choice for a decoration! Maybe the design stagers thought it looked like a child’s favorite “lovey” toy casually dropped on the floor after grandad read a book to them and they feel asleep. Or do I have a too vivid imagination?

    PS: Parking in Manhattan would have been $24 for this event — for an hour, so $6 sound like a bargain to me!

    1. You’re right–my $6 entitled me to all day. I could even leave and return with the same ticket.

      I’m hoping YOU’LL be posting some pictures of the Royal Botanical Garden in Sydney!

Leave a Reply

