Guess Again

There is another public art project that caught my friends’ attention last week.  This project is on a corner of  a busy intersection in a mostly residential part of the city.  I remember asking the realtor about it when we were house-hunting because it definitely catches the eye.  She couldn’t remember, but thought it had something to do with magnolias.

As a reminder, here’s a photo part of the public art project I showed here last week.   There are several identical circular pieces scattered in uneven rows on either side of a small section of our light rail line. Each has a small cutout in the center.

True or falsies?

I loved your guesses:  a cracked alien egg, muffin tops, orange peels, falsies and breasts, artifacts from the LOST island which takes people back to 1975 if they touch one, sliced golf ball, mushroom caps, and dark side of the moon inside a bifurcated dog chew toy.  Hey, you guessed ’em, I’m just passing on data.  No need to vote.

Here’s the second set of sculptures.  Have a crack at ’em.

Loop-de-loop?

You can tell by the cars in the background that they’re quite large and eye-catching.  That’s ivy at the base.  It’s been just like that all these years; I can’t tell it’s grown an inch.  I suppose that means it wasn’t meant to cover the structures.   If so, they might have planted kudzu.

Then again, the way that stuff grows, people would be afraid to stop their cars at the light.

19 thoughts on “Guess Again

  1. Tammy

    Very interesting to say the least. And me always thinking about food…. Onion rings comes to mind when I look at these. 🙂 I love onion rings. And this is why I am going to aerobics 4 times a week. Lol

  2. steffiw

    mrs giants earrings???kind of reminds me of a poster ad that was put up on busy roads or built-up areas in busy cities featuring a very pretty and shall we say well-nourished model in skimpy underwear(a bra manufacturer ad) with the caption “hello boys”i wonder how many accidents it caused before it was taken down!!(or how many women complained until it was taken down due to their mens driving!)

    1. There used to be a store on a busy corner here that WAS a traffic stopper at night. It was called Thompson’s Bloomery and Bootery and it had a window the length of the store right next to the sidewalk and the busy road. They sold skimpy lingerie and, oddly enough, kids’ Buster Brown shoes. At night they had live models in those show windows… and they weren’t modeling the shoes.

  3. First of all, I love the new design of your blog. Clean and stylish. My cup of tea. 🙂

    The sculpture looks like Auntie Anne’s pretzels when I tried to make them at home. A commentary on Modern Women and the politics of food making I say.

  4. I am a little worried about that artist but a bit more by whoever commissioned him. Your tax dollars at work. But what do I know? I still “ew and ah” over a paint by number.
    Somehow, even Kudza might pass on this.

  5. Love the new blog design!
    Perhaps a mirror–looking outward into a world that has become complicated…when once it was about taking care of family, and providing fresh tomatoes for our neighbors…we now live in a world that reflects disconnect-the sculptures are set apart and not connected at the bottom. It seems to have something to do with toil; either farming or industrial.
    If I lived in the house next door…my kids and the neighborhood kids would have one heck of a swing…they were built with the tax payers money (right?) and art should be lived and enjoyed. By the way it kind of surprises me that Charlotte is open to such avanti-garde art (read ugly) I thought ya all were all about beauty and magnolia’s. Isn’t there a Southern lady statue–its been years but this statue was wearing a hoop skirt…

  6. Coming from a small town where the “art” was Confederate generals, I find these a nice change. They’re certainly less trouble to maintain… the town had to take the generals down from their horses to pee every night, according to one of my crazy uncles. 🙂

  7. First I had to go back and take a better look at the last “guess” post. Sorry for being late to the game, but you know I’ve been covered in paint and stuff (thanks for you sweet comment, btw).

    In the first post you stated that the circular pieces were the color of the red clay we hate to have trampled in the house, especially when the carpeting is a light color. Coming from a looooooong line of Southern farmers and as one who helped my aunt plant her Atlanta garden a few years ago, I’m going to guess that both public art pieces are related to the history of farming. Since the first pieces have a hole directly in the center, I’m going to assume that they were connected by some type of rod. Since the shape is concave, I can envision multiples of them dragged through a field to get it ready for planting. If they were flat, it would just make deep impressions in the dirt/clay, but being concave the dirt/clay would “travel” up a few inches or so and then drop back down, nicely cultivating the dirt/clay.

    With that in mind, this week’s pics look like something that was attached to the end of a long handle (like a modern day hoe-thingy) and used to weed between the rows of crops. Sounds like back-breaking work to me, but my ancestors did it and survived.

    Would be interesting to know the background on these pieces. They’re not really attractive, but if they related to history, that would be cool!

Leave a Reply

