Women! Ya Gotta Love ’em!

The last of my e-mail/knitting/book club friends left yesterday and Dearly Beloved and Miss Piggy haven’t yet returned from the beach. The fridge is full of leftovers, the laundry room with linens, and the house with too much quiet.

Happily, one of my amazing, intuitive friends–a breast cancer survivor, herself– sent me this video.

The video (as noted at the end) is part of Kim MacGregor’s I Believe She’s Amazing movement– a tribute to her friend Erika Heller, who died in 2009 at age 31 of colorectal cancer. The I Believe She’s Amazing movement celebrates all the amazing women in our lives.


The most beautiful people we have known are those who have known defeat, known suffering, known struggle, known loss, and have found their way out of the depths. These persons have an appreciation, a sensitivity, and an understanding of life that fills them with compassion, gentleness, and a deep loving concern. Beautiful people do not just happen.
— Elisabeth Kübler-Ross

30 thoughts on “Women! Ya Gotta Love ’em!

  1. I don’t know where the flash mob idea happened, or who had it, but I LOVE to see these events. Such a joyous gift to everyone, including the performers. Thanks for sharing. Michele

  2. Holy cow, do you know how much of my youth was spent in the Toronto Eaton Centre?! And my stepfather owned a bookstore across the street, which I worked at in the summer. The memories!

    Love these flash mob videos.

    And I nominated you for a Stylish blogger award. Check my blog for details! 🙂

    1. That is so neat that you’re familiar with the mall!

      Stylish blogger? (says she in her sweatpants.) You do have an imagination, Girl! I’ll have to check that one out for sure!

  3. PS My oldest friend died in 2007 at age 42 of colon cancer (she had Crohn’s and her meds masked the symptoms until it was way too late.) Here’s to all you cancer survivors, and people living with cancer, and their loved ones.

  4. lulu

    OMG, I’M DANCING AROUND MY HOUSE!! I will never walk through a mall again without wanting to throw up my hands and dance!! I loved watching the people in the crowd – everyone with a smile on their face:).
    This is sooooooooooooo beautiful in so many ways – two of my favorite things: music and my dear women friends:). Gonna go skip and clap my hands!!::):):):)

      1. lulu

        OMG, U R RIGHT!! TOP OF AGENDA FOR NEXT MEET:
        FLASH MOB DANCING DOWN THE MIDDLE OF THE STREET!!
        (You think I kid? – ….) 🙂

  5. I lost my sister to Melanoma almost 2 years ago. This is a beautiful tribute to those cancer has touched. My best to all the survivors and those out there fighting. My heart to those who have lost their loved ones. Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

