Pinched By the Grinch?

Dearly Beloved, in his long walks around the neighborhood, has observed that not as many residents decorated the outside of their homes this year.

After  he mentioned this, I started watching and he was definitely correct on that score.  I found this one:

(Pardon the blurry quality, but I was driving and the car behind me was impatient.) For the most part, we’re a neighborhood of simple wreaths and garlanded lampposts.

Not that there’s anything wrong with that.  Tastefully boring is always in style.

Still,  what happens to Home Depot and Lowe’s profits if they can’t unload inventories of all those huge, inflatable decorations?  You know the ones I mean– those just a few inches shy of making the Macy’s parade.

Has the Grinch been up and down our streets, stealing holiday cheer to hoard at his own house?

Maybe.  We have seen evidence….

Over-exuberance… or a Grinch storage facility?

11 thoughts on “Pinched By the Grinch?

  1. Oh…dear….God…

    I’m not sure to be disgusted or just damn impressed! I’ll say one thing for them…they certainly gave it their all!

    I actually blogged about my list of do’s and don’ts for holiday decorating. High up on my list? Those “wonderful” inflatable lawn ornaments. I just want to take a BB Gun to each and everyone of them…in a merry festive spirit, of course!

    Merry Christmas!

    http://miracleon32ndstreet.wordpress.com

  2. Mary Lee,

    That’s the most ridiculous house I’ve seen. Ha! We always made fun of some row home communities in Maryland that competed with neighbors on the amount of blow-up Christmas and Easter decorations they could fit in their teeny-tiny yards. And, in the end, we all agreed that those tacky decorations made someone happy. For the photo you show, I’m not sure…

    Merry Christmas!
    Mary

  3. Aunt Bethany–a BB gun would be so. . . Christmasy! Just don’t shoot your eyes out, of course! I must go study your list.

    Pam– you might want to add a ban of over a couple of dozen to your homeowners covenants, just in case there is another madman out there.

    SubWOW– if it would offend your meany neighbor up the street, perhaps you should hit the after Christmas sales to assemble your own exhibit. Merry Christmas to you.

  4. LOL! You must have taken a trip to Brooklyn! Those ugly blow up decorations are all the rage here!

    I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and that 2011 will be a year full of good health and happiness!

  5. Well, B and I only put a modest string of lights over our front door. But I have to admit — I like it when a few people go overboard and blow a fuse with their lights and Santas and stars and wreaths. I especially like the reindeer when they’re led by Rudolph with his little lighted red nose. Tacky? Okay, but if you can’t get garish at Christmas, when are you gonna do it?

  6. I rather like it–It really say’s Christmas, has this childlike quality of way to much–yes ,Stone (above me) has a point–If you can’t get garish at Christmas-than when?
    No inflatables at my house–one lonely polar bear…sigh.

  7. I’m just not into inflatable lawn Christmas things. Just not. But I have to say I was impressed….that someone else did it…not me.

Leave a Reply

