Use Reason–It’s Hurricane Season!

I didn’t like the sound of Hurricane Earl– I’ve known a bunch of Earls, some in my family.   My mother had an Uncle Earl and a Cousin Earl, named for his daddy, Uncle.

Like mother, I had a Cousin Earl, too.  Unfortunate choice of name,  since my Cousin Earl was a girl.

Earls can be sneaky.

Last Wednesday,  Dearly Beloved and I went to the beach to see what Earl Eve was like.  We walked along the shoreline with waves lapping at our ankles until a large one hit us from behind, drenching our shorts and filling our underwear with sand.  Sneaky.

Swimming was dangerous because of the rip tides.  The lifeguards were kept busy rescuing people who apparently thought “rip tides” meant “pass gas in the ocean.” The town employs 22 seasonal lifeguards who have had to pull out over 200 people in a single day.  We’ve watched their training and testing–amazing!

Unfortunately, swimmers don’t have to pass a test.

Earl Eve.

Here’s what it looked like Thursday.

Surfer dudes.

The lifeguard in this station was on full alert, eyes on the surfers, rescue equipment on the sand.  In addition to the guards in stands, additional lifeguards patrolled in beach buggies.  Note the red flag.  Here’s what that means:

High hazard. Rough conditions such as strong surf and/or currents are present. All swimmers are discouraged from entering the water. Those entering the water should take great care. Wind and/or wave conditions are expected to support the development of very strong rip currents. This category implies that water conditions are life threatening to all people who enter the surf. There may be a high number of rescues on red flag days.

Waiting for the big one.

While we were having lunch, a small boat went out for a joyride and almost swamped as we watched.  The yachts and larger boats had been taken out of the water or docked securely.  This one was a really small boat, like a motorboat, operated by someone with a really small brain.

(Excuse the picture quality–I wasn’t near the window on this one.  I was munching a grouper sandwich in a wall booth.)

What th'????

The first blob is a bird.  The boat blob is up and to the right.  The water was much worse than it looks here–white caps and churning water as far as we could see.   (Incidentally, CNBC ran footage from a webcam atop this same restaurant that day.)

Later in the afternoon, onlookers filled the beaches, wanting to see what a hurricane looked like.  Actually, a hurricane that never arrived doesn’t look like much.

Rain had been forecast, desperately needed rain.  Some of the inland areas received rain from another front coming from the west.  Here?  Just enough to dirty the car windshield.  Earl pushed back that front and stole our rain.  Sneaky.

If you look at a map of the east coast, you’ll see that North Carolina sticks its chin out there to give hurricanes a target.

Note the Outer Banks "necklace."

Hurricane season lasts until November 30.  Lifeguard season ended Labor Day.

10 thoughts on “Use Reason–It’s Hurricane Season!

  1. I am so glad this hurricane weakened. It looked so threatening at first!
    I’m always hoping a bad hurricane isn’t named after me…lol!

  2. North Carolina sticks its chin out- I love it. I am trying to come up with something witty to describe how Florida attracts its hurricanes ( I live in the armpit part of Florida on the gulf side) and I cannot come up with a damn thing. Can we pretend that I did?

    I am always perplexed by people who want to swim or take their boats out in an ocean with a hurricane that wants to drop in to say hello to the residents. I am still scratching my head.

  3. This is exactly why I sam so very happy we no longer live near the beach in Florida….we moved nice and safe way inside the state of Georgia and we even bought the house sitting on the highest lot in the sub-division…..hope your hurricane season is a short one.

  4. I’ll never think of the word riptide quite the same way again! lol Isn’t it amazing how human beings can become such idiots, to go out in waters like these. Instead of warning signs, they should put “go ahead and commit suicide in those waters”!!! I know that some people like the thrill of adventure but gee whiz, that is ridiculous. It’s sad that the lifeguards have to actually save those bozos. I’m glad to hear, though, that the actual full force of Earl didn’t affect you. xoxo

    1. I thought the same thing! I suppose the fact that they didn’t close the beaches means the lifeguards must work. I’m not sure, but I think they can give tickets to reckless swimmers.

  5. There has been talk that people who go on adventures against warnings should pay for it if they have to be rescued. Not sure whether it becomes reality?

Leave a Reply

