Where In the World Do I Put South Dakota?

During our moves to different states, we learned that geography is not a strong suit for many  Americans.  Not only are we lousy at World Geography  (including myself here!) we’re not that great at US Geography either.  When we lived in the Midwest, more than one person asked did we know such-and-such who lived in North Carolina… ?  Or wait, maybe it was South Carolina” without knowing the city or town. My favorite was the one who didn’t know the person’s last name either.

No, I don’t believe I do.

No matter what you’ve heard, folks in the South aren’t all kin to each other.

While we were living in Wisconsin, our older daughter, Boo, attended college in North Carolina.  At a college mixer, she mentioned to a boy from Florida that we lived in Wisconsin.  He said, “I know only one person in Wisconsin, a second cousin.  He’s a first grade teacher.

Boo said that she had a sister in first grade.  She knew a great deal about Pogo’s teacher because he was an extraordinary educator–very special to us– and we’d talked often of him.  Boo and the boy talked a while longer and eventually discovered that the second cousin was… yep… Pogo’s teacher.

When I tried this game of dropping the states in their correct positions on a blank outline of the United States,  I confess I made made a few errors, with the average error being 21 miles.  It’s not that easy to drop South Dakota on a blank map.  See how you do.

I’m not ready to take on the world, although it’s on the same website.  If you manage that one, feel free to brag!

7 thoughts on “Where In the World Do I Put South Dakota?

  1. Jincey08

    You’re a genius. My average was 23 miles, but TRULY, that was because I figured dropping Alaska (for crying out loud) didn’t require careful placement. Awk! Great fun. I think I’ll try the pre-school test next.

  2. Birdie

    avg error 15 miles; but it was easier than I thought, who knew that there were so many give away coastline features?? south dakota did me in also

  3. We did pretty well with the United States geography. However, last year when we traveled in Italy one of the guides quizzed my son on American History and uh, he was a little off about the First American President. When the guide was a little surprised given this a kid who knows almost everything about Italy’s renaissance my 7th grader explained they learned American History in school “in 8th grade.” He attends a Waldorf school…but still I had to wonder…proud to say he can find Texas tho and knows most of his capitals.

  4. Well, I got every state in the right place BUT my average was 26 miles off EXACT location.
    Jeezz–when you start with Mississippi.
    And I didn’t get California or Texas or Florida until WAY late in the puzzle.

    Can you tell I am just a bit competitive?

Leave a Reply

