In the Outhouse

Yesterday, after reading my post about the duct taped bluebird house, Dearly Beloved laughed, but then said, “You can’t be telling this story right.  I just can’t think what you’ve said that isn’t true.”

Good thing I took the photo.  Hard to deny something that looks right out of There, I Fixed It. (Thanks to Absence of Alternatives for supplying that link.  She thinks DB’s work may be a candidate.)

That birdhouse hung–at the correct height–for years, with nary an occupant. It became so weathered and old that the nail hole split and it fell off the tree.  It just never got thrown away.

That rotten, rejected birdhouse is what DB hung on that trunk/stick.  As some of you commented, it DOES look like an outhouse.

Our back yard is hard to describe.  When we bought the house the backyard consisted of  a snaky, overgrown berm that had shifted so close to the house that we couldn’t squeeze through to even get to the water faucet.  We had it shoved back, flattened, and a retaining wall built.  Our yard is now on two levels.   The birdhouse stump is on that raised part of the yard.  Maybe this picture will help.

Hidden behind the fig tree, straight up from the small yellow flower where the two walls meet.

At least no one would see it except us, since the yard is very private, but it looked so atrociously tacky, I insisted that DB take it down.  Before we left to come back to Charlotte, he reluctantly caved and went outside to take apart his “art.”  Before doing so, he opened the front and found that someone else had seen it… and liked what she saw. Shabby chic seems to be “in” for nesters.

The inside of the outhouse.

Although he was delighted to prove me wrong,  DB  worried at the same time.  Although our yard is fenced,  possums, raccoons, turtles, snakes, and the neighbor’s evil cat can still find their way in, much to our chagrin.

DB holstered his duct tape again and taped the door so that it couldn’t be opened.  He also made it sturdier on the post–more tape– but there was nothing else we could think of that might help protect the occupants.  I’d like to duct tape the neighbor’s cat to his own yard.

Where is a rottweiler when you need one?

Now that we’re back to Charlotte, DB is surveying the two bluebird houses hanging properly in our back garden. Empty, of course. I suppose he’ll be adding duct tape to them to attract tenants.

Think good thoughts for Mama Bird at the beach house-not-on-the-beach.

Odd, isn’t it. . . DB is crowing about his handiwork and yet I’m having to eat crow.

6 thoughts on “In the Outhouse

  1. unabridgedgirl

    “I’d like to duct tape the neighbor’s cat to his own yard.”

    I’d like to do the same to our neighbor’s cat. LMAO

    And your backyard? BEAUTIFUL.

  2. Eating crow? Don’t you hate when that happens? That’s when you start “crowing” about his accomplishments to distract him.

  3. How cute! Although I was sad about your comments about the neighbor’s cat: I am a cat lover! I would hate to see a rottweiler make mince meat about of that cat!

  4. Birdie

    What? DB didn’t think of a baffle? My bluebird houses in your fair home city always had metal baffles–to baffle the squirrels and the snakes–our poles were always too narrow and high for cats or raccoons. that nesting material looks familiar, I want to say chickadee, what did you think?

  5. I laughed myself silly about duct taping kitty kitty to his own yard. I hope the nest and mama bird remain safe..and thank you for sharing.. Happy Pinks..tho I’m a day late..

Leave a Reply

