It’s a Wrap! (Get it?)

Gather around…it’s time for Merrilymarylee’s Christmas craft time.   Surprising, because nope, I’m not crafty.  A little sneaky from time to time, but not crafty.

My acrylic paints are older than some of the grandsons, but if I can shake up a little color when I add water in the dried-up bottles, they’re good for another year.

I used to use a Dremel, but it lost its appeal after I discovered that the Apple Dumpling Gang contractor was using my drill to grind down his false teeth while he was here working on our kitchen.

By this point, any true crafters have moved on.  The rest of you, come and sit by me.

A couple of years ago I was walking along the beach and  scooped up a handful of these:

They’re mussel and oyster shells, I think.  Half shells, some just bits of them. They’re common on our beach, but not exactly a shell collector’s dream.  After I studied them awhile,  some began to remind me of hair or a beard.

I thought I’d try to turn them into Santa gift tags.

I don’t spend much time working on them–no Gesso or primer.  They’re only gift tags, after all.  I drilled a hole in some with my Dremel, but found that gluing the ribbon to the back of the shell usually holds.

I found that the mussel shells are more apt to look like Santa.  Some of the oyster shells looked more solemn.   One that started out to be Santa ended up as an angel.  Another looked more like a seated  lady. Not for a minute am I claiming to have seen the Virgin Mary in an oyster shell, thank you.  I painted the shell to be what it looked like it wanted to be.

Here are a few of my Santa shell gift tags, along with the angel and woman.  So far, no wise men on the beach.

I’m still a long way away from having to figure out how to display a creche on the half shell.

14 thoughts on “It’s a Wrap! (Get it?)

  1. cw

    Not Crafty!?? PUHLEZZZZZZZZZZEEEEE…. those are adorable… and I’m betting you’ll soon have a creche on a half shell – LOLOLOL…. crafty and damn funny!!!:):):)

  2. These are great. They have an awesome folk artiness to them that is priceless.

    Have to say I love the snow effect on your blog. The first time I thought there was something wrong with my computer screen! LOL Now I just enjoy it snowing inside without the associated cold. :o)

  3. I’m no craft-head- but these are inspiring! Perfect for anyone with a beach place. What to do with all the shells we collect each time we travel! THis is IT!

  4. HC

    Puhleez is right! You are the craftiest crafter going….and I’m looking at my Santa Shell right now….hanging from the garland on my mantel.

  5. Julie

    You ARE crafty! Great job! And, your website is all Christmasy, including the falling snow! Merry Christmas!

  6. Those are awesome!
    I just had to take a moment at the wifi cafe to stop it ..as brief as this visit is..
    I have a month of no internet connection at my home..so will be going to wifi cafes a few times a week…
    So hello…Sorry I cant visit much..
    catcha next month!

  7. Sharon

    Uh, are you kidding me!? Those little mussel Santas are TOO cute!I have a nagging feeling there is a good opportunity for a pun here. Have to think about that…

Leave a Reply

