Holly Days at the Beach

The beach folks were beginning to decorate for Christmas the last time we were there.

City decorations would look strange there.  Even their parade is different, since the floats are REALLY floating.  It is held at night so that the boat lights will show.  Watching a flotilla can be achilla!  (groan!)

Some of the residents were decorating their homes.  No, this definitely isn’t ours!  (May as well unpack your suitcase.)

The town chose lights appropriate for a beach area.

.

I took those pictures on my way to watch the sun rise one morning just before 6 AM.

Some summer wildflowers still bloom and the planted pansies wave brightly in their beds, but it’s nice to see some plants with red berries, like hollies and pyracantha.

Pyracantha shrub

SEAsons GREETINGS!


OutdoorWednesdaylogo5


18 thoughts on “Holly Days at the Beach

  1. It is so cold, damp and rainy here that it is hard to keep warm. Seeing ( or should that be sea-ing) your warm weather photos feels good!

  2. I didn’t realize that people decorate their houses for the holidays on the beach. Let me take that back. I meant I didn’t know people stay for the winter on the beach. We go to OBX every summer, and I just assume those houses are for summer living only. Yeah, I realized it’s dumb of me to assume that… I wuv the snow flakes flying across your website page! So awesome! (hey, smooth change of topic, eh?)

  3. I enjoyed seeing the decorations in NC at the beach. You have similar decorations there to the ones the City of St. Augustine Beach have in terms of the hanging ones.

    We also have a boat parade, but my favorite parade is the small town Christmas parade with the silly floats, dog clubs, high school bands, etc. I love it because they play Christmas hymns in addition to carols, and no one complains. 🙂

    Happy Outdoor Wednesday!

    XO,

    Sheila

  4. Beautiful house ( white building) and I love the way the fence is decorated. Where I live they decorate yachts with the light and play Christmas Carols on big speakers off the boats. They are called carol Ships. So beautiful! Have a great Outdoor Wednesday : ) Sherri

  5. What insightful decorations… I had no idea either.

    Thanks so much for sharing.

    This is a fun blog.

    If you get a moment — I would love for you to stop by and say hi!

    TTFN~~ Claudia ♥ ♥

  6. Our boat parade in Tampa was canceled Friday, due to rain, but we have many more scheduled this month. I love going and seeing the creativity boat owners have and yes submom, we do decorate our houses at the beach. They usually include flamingos with Santa hats and alligators with antlers though. lol

  7. Here I live on the coast….and I never associated “SEA”son’s Greetings in that manner. Beautiful photos.

    My Wednesday post is published. I hope you can find time to visit with me. It’s found Here

  8. Glad you are feeling better. Dress warm for that flotilla. I think lights on the water are so pretty, you get double the effect.
    Loved the architecture on that home. It would fit well in Key West.

  9. I can only imagine how wonderful the flotilla must have been. I loved the picture of the the marina. It really looks quite festive. I hope you are having a great Outdoor Wednesday and are looking forward to the holidays to come.

Leave a Reply

