K3tog, Part II

When the three of us went for our knitting lesson at Knitch, the funky knitting shop in the Virginia Highlands section of Atlanta, the surrounding streets were lined with big white trailers, trucks, and huge lights.  We were practically in the middle of a movie set!

I’m not the world’s worst on current actors (that would be my friend Birdie) but I’m close, so I was surprised that I actually recognized the name of the star of this one: Katherine Heigl.  I have seen a couple of her movies and liked her in them.  Beanie is a Grey’s Anatomy fan though, so she was perhaps the most excited.  While I liked Katherine’s character, Izzy, in Grey’s, even Izzy wasn’t enough to keep me watching another season after the one ending with Drs. McDreamy and Meredith Whosit, her legs in the air, in the supply closet during a hospital party.

The yarn shop is a well-known store with not an inch of street frontage.  Instead, its cheery robin’s egg blue door opens onto an alley.  It has two floors of yarn, the second reachable by a winding metal staircase so narrow that had they offered a DOWN option of a firehouse pole, I’d have chosen it.

Our very nice instructor taught us to knit a miniature sock on a 40″ circular needle long enough to use as a jump rope or clothes line.  I never have understood the knitted sock craze because I rarely wear socks except with tennis shoes, but now I’m hot to get that magic loop going on a pair of socks, whether I ever wear them or not, and the crazier the colors, the better.

While we were learning to make the teeny weeny sock, we also learned that Katherine Heigl is a knitter.  She spent some of her movie breaks in the cool and quiet Knitch knitter’s paradise. Even her husband and newly adopted baby daughter found haven in the store sometimes.  Her mother, co-producer of the film, was also in town for the filming.  Unfortunately, we missed their yarn shop appearances by a day or two.

After our knitting lesson we moved to the next item on our agenda which was, naturally, lunch. We’d noticed a nearby restaurant in an old building with a back door in the alley near Knitch, so we walked around the corner to enter it by the front door.  Only one table–the one nearest the window–was occupied, three people having drinks.  The only other person we saw was a man reading the newspaper in a booth, but he didn’t have so much as a glass on the table–not exactly a ringing endorsement for the food.  There was no waiter in sight, which didn’t say much for the service,  either.  The place was large and quite dark and with the day’s specials written on a chalkboard, it reminded me of an old soda shop

We stood just inside the doorway, trying to decide whether the place was still serving or we should we look for someplace farther up the street.  The man in the booth settled it for us by announcing  (a) they were open and (b) there was no other place nearby.  When he slid out of the booth to summon a waiter for us, we figured he must be the manager.

As we walked past the threesome sitting at the window table, I thought there was something familiar about the pretty young woman who glanced at us.  I shooed Beanie and Birdie toward a booth and when they started moving toward the back of the restaurant,  I tackled Birdie to shove her into one of the front booths.

“GET IN!”  I hissed to Beanie, giving her a push with my hip to nudge her toward the wall so that I could sit on the outside.  They looked bewildered,  but barely bruised.

“I think that may be. . . could be. . . Katherine Heigl,” I whispered.

Birdie, of course,  squawked, “WHO?”

Beanie, the Grey’s Anatomy fan, immediately whipped out her iPhone out and began texting everyone she knew, mumbling that she would have to take my word for it since I was in the catbird seat and the only one who could see the front table.  I wasn’t sure though.  The color of the hair was throwing me– sort of a caramel color–but the mouth definitely looked like Heigl’s.  Beanie leaned past me to look and identified the two she could see as Katherine’s mother and husband, which indeed meant the long honeyed hair must belong to Katherine Heigl.

The movie is called Life As We Know It.  Beanie rolled off some names: Josh Kelley,  Josh Lucas, Josh Duhamel. One is Katherine’s  husband and the other two,  actors in the movie.  Too confusing for me, but I suppose Katherine knows who is who.  Oh… and Beanie said something about a singing Black-Eyed Pea.

When they left, the man in the booth left, too.  We think he was a bodyguard.

It certainly kept us chattering, but perhaps the biggest surprise of all was how excited our kids were when we told them of our chance encounter.  Believe me, we RARELY impress them.   They wanted full details.  We felt like whatever today’s equivalent of “cool” is.

No joshing.

5 thoughts on “K3tog, Part II

  1. Except for the Black-eyed Peas, I did not recognize one single celebrity you mentioned. I did understand all the knitting terms, however. Not sure if that makes me old or simply out of the loop.

    Speaking of loop, I have used the “magic loop” method to substitute for those cumbersome double points. I know a lot of knitters who use the magic loop for socks purely because it forces them to actually finish TWO socks at once rather than making one sock and never getting around to knitting the other one.

  2. Birdie

    Birdie’s offspring was the most excited and wanted pictures! alas Beanie’s iPhone only took a photo of the empty table where they sat. HOWEVER, I have it on good authority that someone else’s offspring did a drive by of the movie set and made some photos. I am patiently waiting . . . ., uh, no, this is not a reminder, why do you ask??
    NC Mountainwoman–Birdie lives not 40 miles from you–and has decided magic loop is poop! But two circulars rock. First up is fingerless mittens.

  3. I agree with Birdie- Magic Loop is Poop!
    Give me double points any day. All those dangling circulars and magic loops are worse than making the second sock.

Leave a Reply

